HomeApplication ProcessRules and PolciesAwarded Projects - you are hereFor GranteesTelevisionRadio Coverage DataDistance Learning and NonbroadcastAround the CountryContact PTFP Public Broadcasting Coverage

  State population (2000 census)
  Population receiving a FM public radio signal
  (From both in and out-of-state stations)
  Population in uncovered areas
  Stations in State FM stations
    FM booster stations
    FM translators
    AM stations
  1989 PTFP Study: Population receiving a
    FM public radio signal

Broadcast Coverage Maps

FM Stations - Detail         FM Stations - Printable

AM Stations - Detail         AM Stations - Printable

Public Radio Stations in State

Main stations in bold followed by associated repeaters and translators
Facilities in italics operated by out‑of‑state broadcasters
Location in ( ) - actual location of transmitting facilities
N - New facility since 1989 study     # - Station now meets study criteria

FM Stations
WFHB N 91.3 Bloomington WFPL3 89.3 Louisville 
   W251AG N 98.1 Bloomington (New Albany, IN)
WFIU 103.7 Bloomington WUOL3 90.5 Louisville 
   W264AL N 100.7 Columbus (New Albany, IN)
   W291AM N 106.1 Kokomo WBST 92.1 Muncie
   W236AE N 95.1 Terre Haute    WBSB N 89.5 Anderson
WBEW1 N 89.5 Chesterton    WBSH N 91.1 Hagerstown
WVPE # 88.1 Elkhart    WBSW N 90.9 Marion
WNIN 88.3 Evansville    WBSJ N 91.7 Portland
WBNI 89.1 Fort Wayne WNAS 88.1 New Albany
   WBKE2 N 89.5 N. Manchester WECI 91.5 Richmond
   WBOI N 91.3 Orland WVXR4 89.3 Richmond 
   W204BF 88.7 Fort Wayne (St. Paris, OH)
WGCS # 91.1 Goshen WVUB 91.1 Vincennes
WFYI 90.1 Indianapolis WBAA N 101.3 W Lafayette
WFPK3 91.9 Louisville       
(New Albany, IN)        

AM Stations                        

WBAA                        920         W. Lafayette 

1 Operated by WBEZ, Chicago, IL.
2 Licensed to Manchester College, North Manchester, IN. Operated by WBNI, Fort Wayne, IN.
3 Operated by Kentucky Public Radio, Louisville, KY.
4 Operated by WVXU, Cincinnati, OH.

General Comments

Public radio in Indiana is provided by three types of licensee: educational institutions, school boards and non-profit organizations.  The licensees of WFIU, WVUB, WNIN and WFYI also operate public television stations.  Indiana public broadcasters have made strides in extending public coverage in the state since the 1989 PTFP study, particularly in the northeast portion of the state and across its northern counties.  Several communities are served by multiple program services, including Bloomington, Richmond, and the Indiana counties near Louisville, Kentucky. Indianapolis, the state's largest city, has only one public radio station. There is one AM station in the state, WBAA (AM) in West Lafayette.      

FM Service  

Indiana public broadcasters have made significant investments in extending service to areas identified in the 1989 PTFP study as unserved.  Nine stations were identified in the 1989 study, but today 23 full-power FM stations and five translators provide public radio service within the state.  WBST Muncie activated four repeater stations to cover unserved areas of Grant, Madison, Henry, Wayne, Randolph, Jay and Blackford counties in east-central Indiana.  WBNI built one repeater station and entered into a local management agreement on a second station to cover unserved areas of northeast Indiana.  WFIU Bloomington constructed translators in Columbus, Kokomo and Terre Haute to extend service to these previously unserved cities.  Two stations that did not meet criteria for inclusion in 1989, WVPE Elkhart and WGCS Goshen, now meet the study criteria and are indicated with the # symbol on the station list.  These two stations provide coverage to counties previously indicated as unserved, including La Porte, St. Joseph, Elkhart, La Grange, Marshall and Kosciusko.  The construction of WFBH Bloomington provided additional service to that community.  WBAA West Lafayette went on the air in 1993, complementing the service of WBAA(AM) in west central Indiana. 

The percentage of Indiana's population that receives public radio increased from 76% in 1989 to 91.4% currently.  The number of people who cannot receive a public radio service in the state decreased from 1,339,000 in 1989 to 525,802.        

AM Service  

AM radio service in Indiana is provided by WBAA (AM) 920 kHz West Lafayette.  The station broadcasts with 5 kW of power during the daytime and 1 kW at night.  WBAA (AM) provides the only Indiana-based public radio service to several counties surrounding West Lafayette.  Much of western of Indiana is also served by WILL (AM) Urbana, Illinois.  The signal of WOSU (AM) Columbus, Ohio reaches just inside several Indiana counties on the state’s border with Ohio.

Service from Adjacent States

Indiana residents receive significant coverage from stations located near the state's borders.  Signals from WBEZ Chicago and its repeater, WBEW Chesterton, Indiana, cover the northwest corner of Indiana, including the cities of Gary and Michigan City and the northern halves of Lake, Porter and La Porte counties along Indiana's Lake Michigan shore.  The transmitters of three Louisville, Kentucky, stations -- WFPL, WUOL and WFPK -- are located in New Albany, Indiana.  These stations provide public radio coverage to five counties -- Harrison, Washington, Floyd, Clark and Scott -- on Indiana's southern border.   WVXR's transmitter is licensed to Richmond, Indiana, but its transmitter is in St. Paris, Ohio, and is operated by WVXU Cincinnati, Ohio.  

Several stations in Ohio provide public radio coverage to Indiana counties along the Ohio-Indiana border.  WVXU and WGUC Cincinnati reach Switzerland, Ohio, and Dearborn counties. WMUB Oxford covers Franklin, Fayette, Union, and Wayne counties.  WDPG Greenville provides coverage to Randolph and Wayne counties.  As noted under AM Service, AM stations in Illinois and Ohio serve parts of Indiana.               

Unserved Areas

Region A  

An area of Lagrange County in the northeast corner of the state on the Indiana-Michigan border has 7,400 residents without public radio service.  

Region B

This is an area comprising all or parts of 18 counties north of Lafayette and bordering on Illinois.  Much of the area is covered by WBAA (AM), which broadcasts with 5 kW during the day but at night reduces its power to 1 kW and uses a directional antenna.  As a result, at night 243,000 residents of these counties -- Lake, Porter, La Porte, Newton, Jasper, Starke, Pulaski, Fulton, Marshall, Benton, White, Cass, Miami, Carroll, Warren, Howard, Clinton, and Tipton -- have no public radio service.  WBEZ Chicago has applied for a construction permit to increase the operating power of WBEW Chesterton in La Porte County from 7kW to 50kW.

Region C 

Seven counties west of WFYI Indianapolis and southwest of WBAA -- Fountain, Vermillion, Montgomery, Parke, Putnam, Vigo, and Clay -- have 104,500 residents which only receive daytime coverage from WBAA(AM).  Channel 6 issues may compromise opportunities to cover unserved areas of the state west and southeast of Indianapolis and north of West Lafayette.  

Region D  

Another seven county area stretching southeast of WFYI Indianapolis to the Kentucky border has 96,600 residents without public radio service.  The counties in this area are Shelby, Rush, Decatur, Jennings, Ripley, Jefferson, and Switzerland.    

Region E  

Approximately 29,728 residents living in five counties -- Perry, Crawford, Dubois, Orange, and Martin -- north of the Ohio River between Evansville and New Albany are without public radio service.


Bottom Line What's New Info for Grant Recipients How to Apply Calendar
Department of Commerce Web Site