FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 20, 1997
CONTACT: Paige Darden
(202) 482-7002



FRIDAY, DECEMBER 5, 9:00 - 5:30

WHAT: The Advisory Committee on Public Interest Obligations of Digital Television Broadcasters will hold its second meeting in its effort to study and recommend which public interest obligations should accompany broadcasters' receipt of digital television licenses. The Committee co-chairs, Leslie Moonves, President, CBS Television and Dr. Norman Ornstein, Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute, will preside over the meeting. *The meeting is open to the press and public.

*Members of the public requiring special services, such as sign language interpretation or other ancillary aids, should contact Karen Edwards, at 202-482-1880.

WHEN: Friday, December 5, 9:00 a.m.- 5:30 p.m

WHERE: Export-Import Bank of the United States, 11th Floor

811 Vermont Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

(Picture identification, such as a driver's license or passport, is required for entrance)

AGENDA: In addition to regular committee business, the meeting will include briefings on the perspectives and experiences of the public interest and broadcasting communities. The Advisory Committee will also allow thirty minutes for public comments, up to 5 minutes per speaker. A more detailed agenda will be available on the Advisory Committee's Home Page at prior to the meeting.

The Advisory Committee welcomes public comments. Written comments received will be forwarded to committee members. Comments should be submitted through electronic mail to or addressed to Karen Edwards, Advisory Committee on Public Interest Obligations of Digital Television Broadcasters; National Telecommunications and Information Administration, 14th and Constitution, NW, Room 4716, 14th and Constitution, NW, Washington, DC 20230. For more information about the Advisory Committee on Public Interest Obligations of Digital Television Broadcasters, please visit the home page at or call 202-482-1880.