NTIA logo background You are here: > NTIA Home   >  Press   >  2009   >  Spectrum Advisory Commitee   |   Contact NTIA
 About NTIA


 NTIA Offices
 • Asst. Secretary
 • Domestic Policy
 • International
 • Spectrum
 • Telecom Research
 • Grants

 Public Notices

 Publications &

 Media & Press


 NTIA Jobs

 Dept. of Commerce

American Values, American Jobs

Press Release: Commerce Department Announces Committee to Advise on Management of Nationís Airwaves

Committee to Continue Addressing Wireless and Broadband Services While Protecting Public Safety and National Defense

For Immediate Release:  January 16, 2009
Contact:  Bart Forbes, (202) 482-7002 or

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Secretary of Commerce Carlos M. Gutierrez today announced the appointment of a diverse group of representatives from the private sector for a two-year term to the Commerce Spectrum Advisory Committee.  Committee members will provide advice and recommendations that will enable the United States to remain a leader in new wireless technologies while ensuring the country’s homeland security, national defense, and other critical government needs are satisfied. 

“The spectrum advisory committee will continue developing consensus around policies that will promote new technologies, expand consumer choices, and enhance first responder capabilities,” said Gutierrez.  “Through the President’s Spectrum Policy Initiative, the committee has laid a solid foundation for the future that will benefit all Americans."

The Department of Commerce created the Committee following a recommendation made in President Bush’s 21st Century Spectrum Policy Initiative.  The Committee advises the Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information on a broad range of issues regarding spectrum policy and on needed reforms to domestic spectrum policies and management to enable timely implementation of evolving spectrum-dependent technologies and services to benefit the public. The members are spectrum policy experts, appointed as “Special Government Employees” from the private sector and balanced in terms of their points of view.  Committee members offer expertise and perspective on reforms to enable new technologies and services, including reforms that expedite the American public’s access to broadband services, public safety, digital television, and long-range spectrum planning. 

“I would like to thank the members of the Advisory Committee for offering their expertise to develop a strong agenda that will ensure America’s homeland security and its world leadership in cutting edge technologies," said Acting Assistant Secretary Meredith Attwell Baker.  "Their wide range of experience and insight is critical in continuing reforms that expedite the American public’s access to broadband and public safety services, and long-range spectrum planning.”

The Commerce Department selected members, who represent some of the nation’s premier spectrum policy and management experts, based on their nomination, technical background and broad expertise.  Members of the Committee include:

Dr. David E. Borth
Corporate Vice President for Advanced Technology, Standards and Common Engineering Networks and EnterpriseMotorola Inc.

Martin Cooper            
Executive Chairman and Co-FounderArrayComm, Inc.

Mark E. Crosby
President/CEO, Enterprise Wireless Alliance

Brian Fontes
Chief Executive Officer, National Emergency Number Association

Harold Furchtgott-Roth
President, Furchtgott-Roth Enterprises

Robert M. Gurss
Director of Legal & Government Affairs, Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials

Dale N. Hatfield
Independent Consultant and Adjunct Professor

John Hoadley
Wireless CTONortel           

Dr. Kevin C. Kahn
Director of the Communications Technology Lab
Intel Corporation

James Andrew Lewis
Senior Fellow and Director of the Technology and Public Policy ProgramCenter for Strategic and International Studies

Dr. Mark A. McHenry
President Shared Spectrum Company

Darrin M. Mylet
Vice President - Wireless Services, Cantor Fitzgerald

Janice Obuchowski
Founder and President, Freedom Technologies, Inc.

Robert Pepper
Senior Managing Director, Global Advanced Technology Policy, Cisco Systems, Inc.

Neville Ray
Senior Vice President of Engineering and Operations, T-Mobile USA

Richard L. Reaser, Jr.
Head, Spectrum Management Department, Raytheon Space and Airborne Systems

R. Gerard Salemme
Executive Vice President, Strategy, Policy, and External Affairs, Clearwire Corporation

Bryan Tramont
Partner, Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP

Jennifer Warren
Vice President, Technology Policy & Regulation, Lockheed Martin Corporation

The President’s Spectrum Policy Initiative is located online at 

The National Telecommunications and Information Administration is the President's principal adviser on telecommunications and information policy issues.

# # #

TV Converter Box Coupon Program 888-388-2009

Digital TV Transition and Public Safety

Networked Nation 2007
RSS News Feed RSS News Feed
What is RSS?

More Information

Home | Publications | Newsroom | Policy | International | Spectrum | Grants | Research
National Telecommunications and Information Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce
1401 Constitution Ave., NW Washington, DC 20230