Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

NTIA Announces Members of Commerce Spectrum Management Advisory Committee

April 18, 2019
News Media Contact
NTIA, Office of Public Affairs

The U.S. Department of Commerce's National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) today announced that U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross has appointed 30 outside experts to serve on the Commerce Spectrum Management Advisory Committee (CSMAC). The committee provides advice on a range of spectrum policy and technical issues and is an important forum for developing recommendations aimed at strengthening U.S. global leadership in wireless technology services.

Committee members will serve two-year terms and will be led by two co-chairs: Jennifer Warren, Vice President, Technology Policy & Regulation, Lockheed Martin; and Charla Rath, independent consultant and former Verizon executive. The committee will be working on issues related to the growing demand for spectrum to support 5G technologies as well as ensuring continued access to spectrum for critical federal government, defense and national security missions.

“On behalf of Secretary Ross, we welcome new members to CSMAC and thank returning members for their continued service,” said David Redl, Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information and NTIA Administrator. “This committee’s diverse expertise in spectrum policy will help guide our ongoing work to meet the spectrum needs of commercial and federal users.”

As Special Government Employees (SGEs), members serve in a personal capacity and do not represent any organization or interest. The Secretary selected members of the committee based on their technical background and expertise, as well as a diversity and balance in points of view, consistent with the CSMAC Membership Balance Plan.